Merry Christmas (and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies)

I had a wonderful Christmas! It was full of family, good food, resting and celebrating the birth of our Savior. I made the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies for Christmas Eve. I could pretend that they are healthy. I could tell you about how oatmeal has soluble fiber that is good for your heart. I could tell how chocolate has flavonoids. I could tell you how it is trans fat free, but this time I won’t. I will just tell you that they are delicious.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups flour

1 tsp. soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

2 cups oatmeal

Semisweet Chocolate Chips (mini or regular), mini M&M, butterscotch chips or a mixture of the above to taste.

Cream sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla.  Add dry ingredients and mix.  Add chips after your mixture has come together.  Drop 1 Tbsp of batter onto cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes, or until slightly brown.  Cool one minute and then remove to wire rack for crisper cookies. Makes about 3 dozen cookies. 

Leave a Reply

