But I Don’t Like Cooked Carrots…

I have never enjoyed cooked carrots. Soggy ole boiled cooked carrots. They taste like mush and get so water logged. Maybe I have just never had good boiled carrots, but I always try them and haven’t found one I like. So, when I had a 5 lb bag of carrots in the fridge and needed a veggie to serve when my family came over to cook out, I decided to roast them. In my opinion, everything is better roasted. It brings out the natural sweetness in the vegetable.  Also you don’t lose the nutrients you lose when you boil vegetables, and you don’t want to lose these nutrients.

Carrots are loaded with antioxidants, specifically beta-carotene like some of the other orange veggies with have discussed before. Carrots have also been shown to be protective against glaucoma and are good for overall eye health. Carrots, like many fresh vegetables, are also protective against cancer, specifically colon cancer. Carrots are also a good source of my favorite nutrient…fiber! So give carrots another chance, just not a boiled one.

Roasted Carrots

3 cups chopped carrots

1 ½ teaspoons oil of choice

Salt and pepper to taste

Ground red pepper, optional

Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.  Chop carrots as uniformly as possible for even cooking. Toss carrots in oil, salt and pepper. If you want a little heat, add a pinch of ground red pepper. Roast for 10 minutes. Stir carrots and continue to roast until golden brown around the edges. Serve warm or room temp.

Leave a Reply

